27. Mai 2021 / Emna Eitel

Sony Awards for international master's students of Faculty 5 – Winners of the first funding period 2020/2021

[Bild: Sony]

We are very proud to report on the Sony Awards Ceremony related to the

Sony Awards Program for International Master's Students

of the Faculty of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, sponsored by the Company Sony Europe B.V. in its first funding period 2020/2021.

The four-year funding Sony Awards Program has been launched this year in order to promote internationalization in education and research. The Program is targeting students from international master’s programs in the wide field of Information Technology and is aiming at supporting active students during the last year of their study program. The Sony Europe B.V., Stuttgart Technology Center (STC) has a close relationship to the Faculty of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology reflected by cooperation in diverse research projects.

After a call of applications for students and graduates of our international master’s programs: M.Sc. Computer Science, M.Sc. Computational Linguistics, M.Sc. Electrical Engineering (EENG) and M.Sc. Information Technology (INFOTECH), who fulfill a predefined set of requirements, the Jury selected the winners for the first funding period 2020/2021 among many applications with impressive academic credentials. We want to thank again all of the applicants for the high quality of their application papers and references.

The Award Ceremony took place online on 21 May 2021 with 25 participants consisting of award winners, their family members and friends, professors and academic staff. Professor ten Brink moderated the event as representative of the faculty in the Jury and dean of study of MSc Information Technology. Together with Mr. Markus Zumkeller and Mr. Oliver Erdler as representatives of the company Sony, he highlighted the importance of the program for the international research landscape at Sony and the faculty and honored the hard work of our international programs’ students and graduates, especially in these challenging times.

The Sony Awards in 2020/2021 went to the following winners:

  • Active Students Awards

Thai An Le (3. Semester, M.Sc. INFOTECH)

Deepak Nadagouda (3. Semester, M.Sc. INFOTECH)

Wei-Chun Kao (3. Semester, M.Sc. Computational Linguistics)

  • Graduate Award

George Basem Foued Eskandar (M.Sc. INFOTECH, now PhD student at the ISS)

We want to congratulate the winners again for this great achievement and hope that these awards will support them to achieve their visions.

Finally, we are looking forward to the applications of the upcoming second funding period 2021/2022 and for celebrating with the winners and participants, in person hopefully!

Contact person: Dr.-Ing. Emna Eitel

Zum Seitenanfang